Bird

IMG_0489.jpg

“How has your age affected your worldview now that you’re a senior?”

“In a school setting: strange. I see gaggles of Sophomores at my school and think it’s weird that I’m the same age as them, but in a different class, then I look at my class and think it’s weird how I’m there, but a different age. I’ve grown to feel more comfortable as a senior, but it’s taken a while to adjust. I used to think all the time that I had two years less world experience than most of my classmates, but only recently I’ve come to forget.

I consider myself fortunate for where I’ve been; traveling affected how I saw the world. I’m lucky to be this young and feel that I know my place, what I want to do, and where I want to go. Traveling has allowed me to see the unique beauties of the planet; I care deeply for it, and I want to devote my career and my life to protecting it. It’s interesting though, I find that my objectives are so much different than the things advertised to my age group. Things like Snapchat, and social media in general, is everything with my age group, I don’t diss people who do those things, but I just don’t hold them at high standing…”

“What do you do when you feel lonely?”

“It’s weird, I love being alone, but I hate being lonely. I love solitude, especially in nature, finding a tree to climb or woods to walk through by myself is so comforting. It used to be the ocean; now the woods. Nature doesn’t care what’s going on in your life. The birds, the trees, they don’t care. It’s all a cycle and it’s humbling because it puts your problems into perspective, and I feel more complete and at peace as a person in nature…

But, then there are some times where I just watch anime, drink a large cup of tea and cry; I like the BIG things in life or just not thinking at all.”

One thought on “Bird”

Leave a comment